Home > Television, TV Reviews, TV Shows > Greatest. Proposal. Ever.

Greatest. Proposal. Ever.

When I proposed to my fiance, I thought I did pretty damn good. It was surprising and out of nowhere, which definitely brought out some genuine shock for the future Ms. Cinematically Correct. We cried, we hugged, it was really my slickest moment ever.

Jim Halpert beat me.

Yes, the moment that fans of NBC’s “The Office” have been waiting for finally happened last night. Jim (John Krasinski) proposed to the most adorable person on TV, Pam Beesly (Jenna Fischer). I really didn’t see it coming and was completely floored. Not only was I surprised, I was genuinely moved and, you guessed it, I teared up a bit. If you don’t love Jim and Pam, you are officially dead inside and need to take your cold, black, useless heart to a shrink.

Greatest TV kiss ever? There have been some memorable ones (Desmond and Penny from “Lost” comes to mind) but this was really fantastic. It’s been such a build-up with these two characters. They have gone from best friends, to Pam rejecting Jim, Jim rejecting Pam, Pam’s ex-fiance getting maced (greatness) and it all led to this moment. This is why “The Office” is better than “30 Rock”. It has heart and isn’t just in it for the over-the-top chuckles. These characters are so well-formed that you can find people in your life that are just like them.

It’s tough to think about the rest of the episode after that proposal. It was a riot. Every single character had a moment to shine and there are plenty of hilarious moments to point at. Here are a few of my favorite exchanges, courtesy of “The Office” Quotes:

Jim Halpert: (talking about the new receptionist) I don’t really know Ronnie. But I have a feeling I will get to know her very well over the next few years. And eventually declare my love for her.

Michael Scott: What is wrong with these people? They have no willpower. I went– I once went twenty-eight years without having sex. And then again for seven years.

Kelly: (looking very sick) I’m on the third day of my cleanse diet. All I have to do is drink maple syrup, lemon juice, cayenne pepper and water for all three meals. Um, I just bought some bikinis online too so.. I’m gonna look amazing.

Creed: (in response to question of number one cause of death) Being frightened. Scared to death.

Michael Scott: No, no, no. I don’t wanna hear moaning. This is a good day. You guys accomplished something big. You lost a ton of weight, literally. A lot of weight. And I don’t care what any stupid scale says, you guys are all gigantic losers.

  1. annieinmn
    September 26, 2008 at 7:43 PM

    LOVED IT. I was shocked…amazed….swooned. It’s moments like these that make me wish Jim Halpert was real. Oh how I love JAM. I also think people that don’t love Jim and Pam are dead inside.

    I also think stupid 30Rock keeps robbing The Office of Emmys. (And also NPH got robbed) Yes. I am bitter.

    I can’t wait to re-watch the episode again and love the Engagement all over again. Also…I was happy to see Kelly getting some serious face time this episode. And glad to see Ryan return as a receptionist. 🙂 All-Over GREATNESS!

  2. October 9, 2008 at 7:53 PM

    hooray! you’re the first person i found with a good picture of the proposal. thank you!

  1. September 26, 2008 at 7:48 PM

Leave a Reply

