Home > Music, Music News > Let The Best Of 2008’s Begin! Cinematically Correct’s Albums That Are So Good They Are The Best Good Albums Of 2008!

Let The Best Of 2008’s Begin! Cinematically Correct’s Albums That Are So Good They Are The Best Good Albums Of 2008!

There used to be music reviews on these pages. I have since decided that…well…I suck at record reviews. That being said, I decided to take a bit of a different approach to my Best Albums of 2008 list. As usual, my only requirement is that I have listened to the album.

I decided to go ahead and get this list out now since there really aren’t any albums that I can see will be great due out in the remainder of 2008. Well…Guns N Roses but there is no freaking way that it is any good. Actually, if there was such a thing as ear poison, I would say that it is made of 50% Nickelback and 50% Guns N Roses.

2008’s Best Albums That Are So Good That They Are The Best Good Albums Of 2008

10. The Hold Steady, “Stay Positive”
9. Conor Oberst, “Conor Oberst”
8. Horse Feathers, “House With No Home”
7. Ryan Adams & The Cardinals, “Cardinology”
6. Vampire Weekend, “Vampire Weekend”
5. Okkervil River, “The Stand Ins”
4. Wolf Parade, “At Mount Zoomer”
3. Drive By Truckers, “Brighter Than Creations Dark”
2. Shearwater, “Rook”
1. Fleet Foxes, “Fleet Foxes”

Complete & Total Disappointments of 2008

5. Ben Folds, “Way To Normal”
4. The Music Tapes, “Music Tapes for Clouds & Tornadoes”
3. TV On The Radio, “Dear Science”
2. Kings Of Leon, “Only By The Night”
1. My Morning Jacket, “Evil Urges”

Best Albums By Cute Girls

Jenny Lewis, “Acid Tongue”; She & Him, “Volume One”

Best Albums By Seasoned Artists That Didn’t Go Through The Motions

Elvis Costello & The Impostors, “Momofuku”; Beck, “Modern Guilt”

Most Funnest Album Of 2008

Little Joy, “Little Joy”

Loudest Album Of 2008

The Raconteurs, “Consolers Of The Lonely”

Best Albums By A Novelty Act That Also Has A TV Show

Flight Of The Conchords, “Flight Of The Conchords”; Flight Of The Conchords, “The Distant Future” (EP)

Categories: Music, Music News Tags:
  1. November 21, 2008 at 4:46 PM

    Vampire Weekend? Really? The only thing that kept me from throwing that album out my car window was the fact that it was on loan from a coworker.

  2. November 21, 2008 at 5:02 PM

    Vampire Weekend is kind of fun & catchy. I’m 100% positive that every album they release from this point forward will be crap but this one…I kind of dig.

  3. November 23, 2008 at 7:05 PM

    TV on the Radio a disappointment? Hmmm…couldn’t disagree more. But anyone who votes for Shearwater’s newest album is ok with me.

  4. December 2, 2008 at 2:28 PM

    I’m happy you included Conor Oberst in your top 10. He definitely deserves it, that whole album is amazing.

    In particular I love the song “I don’t want to die (in the hospital).” Read my interpretation of the song on The Dirty Truth: http://www.stophospitalinfections.org/2008/11/i_dont_want_to_die_in_the_hosp.html

    Thanks for your list!

  5. June 25, 2014 at 5:15 PM

    Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this article is amazing, nice written and
    come with approximately all important infos. I’d like to see
    more posts like this .

  1. December 10, 2008 at 11:53 AM

Leave a Reply

