Home > Music, Music News > The ACL ’09 Lineup Is Here! One Word…Underwhelming

The ACL ’09 Lineup Is Here! One Word…Underwhelming

"How in the hell are we sharing a stage with Dave F'ing Matthews?"

"How in the hell are we sharing a stage with Dave F'ing Matthews?"

For the first time in quite some time, I am completely uninspired by the Austin City Limits Music Festival’s lineup. Normally, this is the premiere music festival, but this one just doesn’t have me excited. Since I’m in the Dallas/Ft. Worth Metroplex, it’s easy for me to attend this festival and my attendance would hinge on the lineup. This one doesn’t appear to get my hard earned 200 bucks.

The weekend is being capped off by Pearl Jam, which is pretty freaking awesome. Unfortunately, I would have to fight through the beating of Dave Matthews, Ben Harper, Thievery Corporation, Sonic Youth (just awful live), Arctic Monkeys…there are just more bands here that I dislike than I like. Honestly, there are only a handful of acts that I would enjoy seeing, other than Pearl Jam. I would be front and center for Bon Iver, The Decemberists, Grizzly Bear, Blitzen Trapper, and Sarah Jaffe…but that is really it for me. Just knowing that one cent from my ticket would go to Dr. Dog disgusts me. That band sucks so bad that I can hardly describe it.

  1. Adam
    April 28, 2009 at 8:45 PM

    I totally agree. Pearl Jam is obviously worth seeing but after that I’d only be looking forward to The Dead Weather, Devotchka, Dan Auerbach (since The Black Keys melt faces), and Andrew Bird, whom I’ve seen 3 times already.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

