Home > Celebrity News, Movies, Pop Culture > Let’s Sing Happy Birthday To Wes Anderson, But Set It Against A Vividly Colored Backdrop & In Slow Motion

Let’s Sing Happy Birthday To Wes Anderson, But Set It Against A Vividly Colored Backdrop & In Slow Motion

"I am so hip that it's actually painful."

"I am so hip that it's actually painful."

There are more recent photos of Wes Anderson available, but I like this suit the most so I ran with it. It’s possible that I am more envious of Wes for his stockpile of slick clothes than I am of his directing skills. Of course, I didn’t post this because I like his suit, it just so happens to be Wes Anderson’s 40th birthday today.

If I was to make a list of directors whose movies I am guaranteed to pay to see, you could only put Ridley Scott ahead of Wes. I expect so much from him that I initially did not care for “The Darjeeling Limited”. Now, I watch it every time it’s on and I think it’s brilliant. It’s almost impossible for me to rank his movies in the order I prefer them…but I naturally will do so anyway.

5. “The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou“. Don’t get me wrong, I think this movie is genius. It’s just the least focused of all of the Anderson flicks.

4. “Bottle Rocket“. That’s how sick Wes Anderson movies are…this is fourth on his list.

3. “The Darjeeling Limited“. This is probably his most artsy movie and it has grown on me more than any movie in my recent memory.

2. “Rushmore“. This was nominated for one award, which was a Golden Globe for Bill Murray. How? At the very least, the screenplay by Anderson and Owen Wilson should have been showered with praise.

1. “The Royal Tenenbaums“. The ultimate serio-comedy about a rich, dysfunctional family. Anderson and Wilson were finally nominated for Best Screenplay, but the real crime is Gene Hackman. Think about this…Denzel Washington won Best Actor for “Training Day” that year. Yeah, Denzel is great there but over time, what character is better remembered? I’m going with Royal Tenenbaum. There are so many classic moments involving Hackman in that movie that it should be the movie he is ultimately remembered for.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

