Home > Movies, Trailers > Does “A Single Man” Give Colin Firth A Shot At Oscar Greatness?

Does “A Single Man” Give Colin Firth A Shot At Oscar Greatness?

This trailer for “A Single Man” starring Colin Firth sure pours on the drama doesn’t it? The strings, the upset-looking people, the always crying (but not as much as Meryl Streep) Julianne Moore…it’s got indie drama written all over it and it was just picked up by the Weinstein brothers. Naturally, this will put the movie right in the Best Picture race.

My wife and I were just wondering what the hell happened to Colin Firth. I’m a fan and his bit in “Love Actually” is the best part of the movie. Here’s hoping Firth gets his due soon!

  1. October 21, 2009 at 5:34 AM

    I’ve seen the film just recently, and I can absolutely say both Colin Firth and Julianne Moore are in the running for nominations, it’s stunning work. Julianne might even be able to take down Mo’Nique if she plays her cards right.

    I’ve reviewed the film on my blog (I loved it!) – check it out and let me know what you think!

  2. January 12, 2010 at 2:01 AM

    Hmm, I was hoping Firth would have won more critics prizes during the season. It seems to be between Clooney and Bridges at the moment.

    A nomination seems assured though, which is lovely. I really hope the same can be said of Julianne Moore, who was utterly fabulous. Such a bummer she missed out on a SAG nomination.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

