Home > Cinematically Correct, Lists!, Music > The 2009 Cinematically Correct Album Rundown

The 2009 Cinematically Correct Album Rundown

In alphabetical order, here is every single new 2009 album I’ve listened to at least once. This is an effort from me to a) show off my music snobbiness, b) show off how much space I have filled on my iPod and c) show my complete boredom at work. Eventually, I will rank these from what I think is best to worst.

Wait! I have it. I’ll knock this list down to a good sounding number…like twenty…or wait…TEN! That’s it! I’ll give my Top Ten Albums of 2009 at some point!

Alice In Chains, “Black Turns Into Blue”
Bear In Heaven, “Beast Rest Forth Mouth”
Bonnie “Prince” Billy, “Beware”
Cymbals Eat Guitars, “Why There Are Mountains”
Dinosaur Jr., “Farm”
Echo & The Bunnymen, “The Fountain”
Elvis Costello, “Secret, Profane, & Sugarcane”
Flight of the Conchords, “I Told You I Was Freaky”
Grand Archives, “Keep In Mind Frankenstein”
Grizzly Bear, “Veckatimest”
Handsome Furs, “Face Control”
Joker’s Daughter, “Last Laugh”
Karen O & The Kids, “Where The Wild Things Are”
M. Ward, “Hold Time”
Monsters Of Folk
Morrissey, “Years Of Refusal”
Neko Case, “Middle Cyclone”
Pearl Jam, “Backspacer”
Phoenix, “Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix”
The Avett Brothers, “I And Love And You”
The Dead Weather, “Whorehound”
The Decemberists, “The Hazards Of Love”
The Flaming Lips, “Embryonic”
The Lonely Island, “Incredibad”
The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart
The Rural Alberta Advantage, “Hometowns”
The Swell Season, “Strict Joy”
The Temper Trap, “Conditions”
Them Crooked Vultures
Vetiver, “Tight Knit”
Volcano Choir, “Unmap”
White Rabbits, “It’s Frightening”
Wilco, “Wilco (The Album)”
Wolfmother, “Cosmic Egg”
Yeah Yeah Yeahs, “It’s Blitz!”

  1. mcarteratthemovies
    November 17, 2009 at 9:55 AM

    First: L-O-V-E the “Always Sunny” header. One of the best shows on TV.

    Also, I’d throw Brandi Carlile’s “Give Up the Ghost” in the Best Albums of 2009 mix. It doesn’t eclipse her first album, but it comes damn close.

    • November 18, 2009 at 9:03 AM

      I liked “The Story” but I haven’t listened to her latest. Actually…I didn’t even know she released an album this year because I’ve been too busy perfecting my kitten mittens project.

  2. Alex Pavitt
    November 19, 2009 at 10:44 AM

    Fairly similar to my listening habits this year. Still need to check out The Avett Brothers and Dinosaur Jr though. Thanks for reminding me to do that!

  3. November 23, 2009 at 4:26 PM

    I left an album out: Mark Olson & Gary Louris, “Ready For The Flood”.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

