Home > Cinematically Correct > The Genius Of “Inglourious Basterds”

The Genius Of “Inglourious Basterds”

Since I missed work yesterday due to illness, I was able to spend the majority of my day wrapped up in my Snuggie (for real), playing X-Box and watching movies. I’ve become obsessed with the new NHL 2010 game, which begs the question: Why are hockey video games always the best games?

Best Actress '09

More importantly, I had picked up the “Inglourious Basterds” Blu-Ray on Tuesday so I watched it last night. That movie is way, way better than I initially thought. First off, Melanie Laurent is 100% badass. Where is her awards talk? Not only that, but Brad Pitt is pretty damn fantastic as well. What about him? I realize that only so many performances can be recognized but these really are two of the finest jobs of 2009. Of course, Christoph Waltz is going to win the Best Supporting Actor Oscar going away. It’s an inevitability.

Actually, I wouldn’t have a problem with Quentin Tarantino walking away with two Oscars, one for Best Original Screenplay and the other for Best Director. He won’t win Best Director, but he realistically should win the other. This movie really is a stroke of genius for somebody I felt had hit an artistic wall. It’s much better on its second viewing and I find it hard to believe that there was initial negative reactions to the movie. I could get pelted with hate but I really feel this is Tarantino’s best movie to date…yes, better than “Pulp Fiction”.

  1. December 19, 2009 at 2:54 PM

    I was nothing but loving toward it when it first came out, but I saw so many more things to love upon watching it on Blu-Ray that I had to write a whole new post detailing all the things I loved about it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

