Home > Cinematically Correct, Movies > If I Had An Oscar Ballot…

If I Had An Oscar Ballot…

The Academy is going the way of the coward this year and nominating ten movies for Best Picture. They don’t want a repeat of the epic fail of leaving “The Dark Knight” (a movie that won over critics & audiences) out of the running. So in order to avoid the bitching from dorks like me, they won’t allow the same thing to happen again and if there’s one thing that Hollywood hates, it’s rehashing old ideas and recreating them as if they were something new. Yes, that’s sarcasm.

Unfortunately, there are some movies that I am certain are fantastic which I haven’t had the chance to see. It’s kind of tough to get out there and watch these movies since I a) have a job and b) have to pay for all of them. Here are the movies I think, judging the response from the blogger world, should be nominated for Best Picture. I’ve put the flicks I haven’t seen in italics. Also, these are not in any particular order so please…no wagering.

  • “A Serious Man”
  • Avatar“…I honestly have no desire to see this whatsoever, but I get its significance.
  • “The Hurt Locker”
  • “(500) Days Of Summer”
  • An Education
  • “Star Trek”
  • “Inglourious Basterds”
  • “Up In The Air”
  • “Up”
  • “District 9”

I should restate something. There is no order…other than the first choice. I honestly think that “A Serious Man” should win the whole thing. It’s the Coen Brothers greatest movie to date, which is really saying something.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

