Home > Cinematically Correct, MLB, News, Pop Culture, Sports > The One Where Apple Is Awesome & Taken Over My Life Or I Love You Steve Jobs

The One Where Apple Is Awesome & Taken Over My Life Or I Love You Steve Jobs

My Apple/Baseball-loving pants can in no way handle this.

Just a few short hours ago, Steve J0bs and Apple unveiled the device that I inevitably will spend at least one or more paychecks on. It is officially called the iPad and, after my initial review of what Apple showed us so far today, I can tell you that it is going to blow your mind so hard that the person sitting and/or standing next to you will also have their mind blown out. If you want a big time, in-depth first look at this amazing piece of technogeeketry, check out Gizmodo.

First and foremost, the price is amazing. There are going to be two different iPads, one set up for WiFi and the other WiFi+3G. The most expensive version is the 64GB WiFi+3G version…at $829. Frankly, that is fairly mindblowing considering the most expensive iPhone will run you $699.

My initial analysis? If you have an iPhone, why get the WiFi+3G version? Are you going to lug the iPad around with you? It’s easily movable, weighing in at 1.5 pounds, but do you want to take it all over the place? I would use it at home or while traveling to read newspapers, books, magazines or watch movies, maybe play games, that’s it. I wouldn’t take it to work everyday, as I do my iPhone. I’m looking strictly at the WiFi iPad…for now.

Of course, my wife has already told me that we don’t need any more gadgets so this is all just an exercise…until I convince her that we do need another gadget!

  1. Adam
    January 27, 2010 at 8:48 PM

    Sorry, but that iPad sounds like total garbage. I’ll give you multiple reasons in no specific order.
    There are no USB ports (or any expansion slots), ergo no cheap memory expansion. There isn’t a camera of any kind.. No support for VLC Player, only the ridiculous Apple codec (forget about watching movies in anything other than Quicktime). There is no Flash and without Flash you have a crippled, almost useless, internet. No multi-tasking because this is the same OS as the iPhone. No video-out, unless the docking station supports it. You are strictly limited to the app store for your applications and the eBook reader is only available through iBookstore, no word about loading your own PDFs/eBooks.

    Where’s the astonishing technology Apple always delivers? I see nothing astonishing about this piece of hardware. This is basically an enlarged iTouch with an inflated price and a size too large for my pockets.

  2. ThisSiteEqualsEpicFail
    January 31, 2010 at 4:53 PM

    Are you freaking kidding me? The iPad is a failed mix of a cell phone and laptop with none of the advantages of either. The comment above me explains all of the points about why it sucks. Just when you think this blog couldn’t reek more of fail, this topic comes along. I’ve spent 15 minutes on this site and I’ve yet to see one opinion that doesn’t sound like a complete tool wrote it. Makes me wish there was a way to revoke the ability to have opinions.

    • January 31, 2010 at 6:39 PM

      First of all, thanks for taking the 15 minutes reading my stuff. I appreciate it.

      Second, you can take your Dell, go see “Avatar”, & go f*** yourself. Mm’kay?

    • January 31, 2010 at 6:40 PM

      Oh, tell your friends about the site too. Thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

