Home > Cinematically Correct, Television, TV Reviews, TV Shows, TV Spoilers! > Has “Lost” Got Your Head Spinning? Dumb Yourself Down With This TV Talk

Has “Lost” Got Your Head Spinning? Dumb Yourself Down With This TV Talk

There’s really no chance I’m going to try and formulate any thoughts on “Lost” right now. The episode alone was thought provoking enough, but coupled with the fact that my motherf***ing cable company completely sucks, it made the viewing a bit disjointed. Do you hear me Time Warner Cable? Your DVR service is 100% garbage. So, I’m going to finish work today, watch the episode again, then type up some thoughts while I watch the Phillies demolish the Washington Nationals. Until then, here’s some TV talk. I caution you, there are some “24” and “V” spoilers ahead!

“24”

I’ll just say it right now: this week’s two hours of “24” were the best of the season yet. There was suspense, shock, and best of all, limited Kate Walsh interaction. Sure, she had that insane shootout and the confrontation with Jack, but that was all good stuff. How? A “24” shootout is always good and anytime Jack gets to choke slam someone while interrogating them, we all win.

If there is one thing that “24” could always do, it was shock us. This season has been fairly predictable…up until Jack and his ginger girlfriend Renee rolled into that apartment at the end. Quite frankly, I am 100% blown away that President Hassan was murdered. It was a complete shock to my system. It was so surprising that it really got to me when the President had to tell Hassan’s wife and daughter that he was dead. I was fairly swept up in that moment and it reminded me of when “24” used to bring the heat every week.

That final scene also made me realize how much I’m going to miss Kiefer Sutherland’s Jack Bauer. The look on his face when he realized they were too late was brutal. Sutherland has become so good at being Bauer that I sometimes take that greatness for granted. The guy is just spectacular.

Don’t get me wrong, this season is still a bit of a downer but I think the final episodes are going to pick it up. Oh yeah…Dana Walsh Must Die.

“Dancing With The Stars”

Well, they booted off the old guy. I wasn’t aware of this but did you know that Buzz Aldrin walked on the Moon? Man oh man, that was hammered home wasn’t it? I don’t want to be mean to a true American hero but they could have tapped the brakes a bit on that one. Of course, I guess he is famous for a great reason, as opposed to the sex tape of you nailing your gross husband on a yacht.

Is there any doubt that Kate Gosselin is next? She has to be. She’s just terrible and looks like she’s having zero fun with any of this stuff. I read today that her douchebag ex Jon Gosselin is going to sue for custody of their kids, which is complete and total nonsense. I think Kate’s a psycho but even she doesn’t deserve that crap. That dude is about as pathetic a human as you can get.

Also, Erin Andrews remains in first place in all our minds and hearts.

“V”

Maybe it was leftover “Lost” giddiness, but last night’s episode was probably my favorite of the series so far. Again, this was mostly due to there being less heard from Erica’s son, Tyler. What could the truth about him actually be? I think that Erica and Tyler’s dad are finally going to tell him that he is a crap actor and should probably just go be an Abercrombie model or something.

Scott Wolf’s Chad Decker is becoming an interesting character. I liked the cat and mouse info game he played with Father Jack. It felt like that is exactly how underground movements begin, with encrypted sentences and implied ideas. Very cool stuff.

While I still have problems with the effects on the spaceships, everything that happened with Ryan and Georgie was fantastic. I really dug that Ryan hooked up with Joshua and the Fifth Element aliens on the mother ship, but I was sad to see Georgie get caught. It was an excellent end to the episode.

I’m hoping “V” gets a shot at season #2. Honestly, it shouldn’t last more than two or three seasons and I hope that ABC learns the lesson from “Lost”. Sometimes, less is definitely more. Just ask the people that hate Dana Walsh.

  1. April 7, 2010 at 11:21 AM

    How on earth do you not have TIVO? My Tivo is dying and I won’t give it up (I have to wait for the new Directv version). It’s SO much better than anything the cable company will put out.

    • April 7, 2010 at 11:24 AM

      I know! I really want the Tivo because I know I can monitor it from my iPhone & as we all know, the iPhone is life.

      We stick with the cable service because the majority of it is included in our home owners association dues. I can’t imagine a cable service being worse than Time Warner.

  2. April 7, 2010 at 3:57 PM

    Thank you for recognizing the greatness of Kiefer Sutherland as Jack Bauer. I do think a lot of people take his talent for granted. He has been phenomenal this season and in every season of 24. What you said about him was spot on! He is spectacular!

    • April 7, 2010 at 4:21 PM

      Not only is Sutherland always gold, he’s completely saved this season. When he’s not on screen, the show just drags.

      I really think that having the knowledge these last few episodes are it, they are going to go out with a bang. I mean…Jack is totally safe. You can’t make a “24” movie without him.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

