Home > Album Of The Day, Cinematically Correct, Cinematically Correct Reports, Music, Music News > Odd Statement Alert: You People Just Don’t Appreciate INXS Enough These Days

Odd Statement Alert: You People Just Don’t Appreciate INXS Enough These Days

Let's play guess the lead singer.

This morning, for no reason whatsoever, I found myself singing INXS’ “Don’t Change”. It can’t be explained as I hadn’t recently heard the song or anything like that, it just simply popped in there.

After listening to some Shearwater in preparation for their concert this weekend, I found myself wheeling up to INXS on the iPod. As I type, I am listening to their very underrated pop music greatness. It got me thinking, how is that I find this band’s music to hold up more today than Van Halen, which had one of the greatest guitarists ever. Is it because INXS stuff has piles and piles of catchy hooks for you to digest? I know, I know. INXS was a massively popular band on a worldwide scale, but at the time, wasn’t their music seen as easily disposable?

Who are some of your favorite underrated bands? Here’s a few of mine:

  • The Replacements

Look, Paul Westerberg is a genius and you should all acknowledge it. The fact that this band recorded eight albums is a miracle as every one of them hated each others guts.

  • Alice In Chains

Again, like INXS, they sold tons of records and were massively popular. But were they seen as great musicians that recorded great albums? They should. The time signature changes in their stuff alone should blow your face off but Jerry Cantrell’s guitar is what is most underrated.

  • The Flying Burrito Brothers

I wish Gram Parsons was still alive so I could hug him and thank him. Without him and this band, there would be no Ryan Adams, Whiskeytown, Wilco, Uncle Tupelo…hell, maybe even The Eagles. This band invented alt-country. Recognize.

  • Dinosaur Jr.

If I made a list of the greatest guitarists ever, J. Mascis may not be first but he is so in my top five. He’s my generations Neil Young. This band pretty much disintegrated for a decade and has come back with two killer albums in the past three years.

  • George Harrison

Yes, he was a Beatle and that makes it tough to be underrated. I think the best way to describe Harrison is under-appreciated. For as great as Lennon-McCartney tunes are, Harrison’s solo work crushes all over solo Beatle material. Crushes. No contest.

  • Drive By Truckers

Umm…because I love them and you should too.

  1. Cindy
    April 9, 2010 at 2:28 PM

    I’ve always appreciated INXS and still do 🙂

  2. April 10, 2010 at 9:01 AM

    Good call.

    Shabooh Shoobah rocked!

  3. April 15, 2010 at 4:48 AM

    INXS, such a great band. Listen Like Thieves, New Sensation, Elegantly Wasted.. all great songs

  4. AJ
    April 28, 2010 at 12:31 AM

    People who felt their music was disposable in the 80s and 90s simply didn’t know the whole package. Dating back to their debut album “INXS” in 1980, they were constantly evolving and tossing catchy and fascinating hooks, with backdrops that often had me straining to envelop myself in them more than the featured sound. This was/is a great band that deserves its due. Their music ingrains itself into our minds, which is why “Don’t Change” popped into your head. My guess is “Kissing Dirt” or “The Stairs,” among others, will one day pop in as well.

  5. AJ
    April 28, 2010 at 12:32 AM

    Damn typo, “Kiss the Dirt.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

