Home > Movies > My Expectations For “Inception” Are So High That I’ll Probably Hate It

My Expectations For “Inception” Are So High That I’ll Probably Hate It

There’s no going back now. Tickets are purchased. “Inception” is a go. There’s a good chance I would have gone at midnight last night, but Wednesday night’s late illness and the subsequent sick day yesterday waved bye-bye to those plans. So, I must be patient, get through the workday, dinner, all the while mentally preparing for this movie like I was studying for the SATs.

So, think I’ve built this up too much? You have no idea. I gleefully giggle when I see commercials for it. I’ve avoided the glowing reviews in an effort to have exactly no idea of what I’m going to see. I’m looking forward to this more than I was “The Dark Knight”, which I went to see while on vacation at the beach. Yes. I went to see a movie while on vacation. At a beach.

My giddiness over “Inception” isn’t really due to the story or the insane looking stuff going on in it. There are three reasons why I’ve been all over this movie from the moment rumors about it popped up.

  1. Christopher Nolan. Seriously, think hard. When have his movies let you down? “Insomnia”? Come on. Nolan’s the only guy to get Al Pacino to not scream and whoo-haaa his way through a movie in years. Even “The Prestige” is killer. It’s totally played out to say this, but Nolan is Stanley Kubrick all over again. He’s cerebral, visionary, and a master behind the camera.
  2. Joseph Gordon-Levitt. I used to tape “Third Rock From The Sun”, just because of him. Kidding. That show sucked. However, JGL (that’s what douchebag fanboys like me call him) is about to hit the big time. He already took a check and hid himself behind ridiculous makeup in “GI Joe” but up until then, nothing but tiny indie movies that he was fantastic in. He’ll never be the classic leading man like…
  3. Leonardo DiCaprio. Think about this. Leo could have gone straight to romantic leading man status after “Titanic”. Thankfully, he decided to be awesome instead. Just because he’s pretty does mean he isn’t completely badass. He’s the best, the best only want to work with him, and he hasn’t severely disappointed (sorta disappointed me in “Shutter Island”)  in years. You can count on him to be light’s out fantastic every time out of the box. He’s the Roy Halladay of movies.

Sorry about the Phillies reference there. Had to be done.

So, how much cash will this make this weekend? I’m guessing around $60 to 70 million. I judge this based on listening to the people with whom I work. Of the six people that I hear or talk to on a daily basis, not a one of them has a clue about this movie. Someone I know actually had not even heard of it until it started trending on Twitter this week. It’s just not a mainstream type movie due to the mystery and oddity of the entire thing.

All I need to tell myself is that if I don’t really know what I’m going to see tonight, there is no way an average movie fan has any clue whatsoever. I don’t want to get all movie snob up in here, but most people want to see crap like “The A Team” or “Grown Ups”. I get that movies are escapism and people just want to turn their brains off for two hours, honestly, I get that. But, don’t they want to be challenged at all? Don’t you want to see something that makes you think? That encourages thought? When the returns come in on Sunday, we’ll find out.

  1. July 16, 2010 at 10:25 AM

    It wasn’t good, man.

    I went in with the same expectations only to be horribly disappointed.

    It’s the kind of movie it’ll take six times to sit through to understand and even then, it probably won’t be worth it.

  2. Anonymous
    July 17, 2010 at 10:57 AM

    Halladay has won a Cy Young. Leo has not won an Oscar. You done goofed.

  3. Anonymous
    July 17, 2010 at 10:57 AM

    Halladay was won a Cy Young. Leo has not won an Oscar. You done goofed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

