Home > Celebrity News, Interviews > Reason #29 Why I Worship Bill Murray: He’s Forthcoming

Reason #29 Why I Worship Bill Murray: He’s Forthcoming

A guy like Bill Murray doesn’t care about bridges at this point in his career. He’s burning them left and right. What does he care? He’s Peter Venkman, he’s Bob Harris, he’s Phil Connors…he’s Herman Blume. He’s been in blockbuster comedies and he’s been in critically adored indie flicks. He’s openly mocked the crap that he’s done in hilarious fasion, i.e. “Zombieland”.

In this GQ interview, he goes a bit further. He opens up and fires away at several people. He rips the writers of “Year One”. He can’t remember Jennifer Love-Hewitt’s name. He crushes the sickening Los Angeles lifestyle. He sings the praises of “Kung Fu Hustle”.

However, he saves the biggest shots for “Garfield”. Guess the “Zombieland” joke wasn’t enough?

And my agents called on Monday and said, “Well, they came back with another offer, and it was nowhere near $50,000.” And I said, “That’s more befitting of the work I expect to do!” So they went off and shot the movie, and I forgot all about it. Finally, I went out to L.A. to record my lines. And usually when you’re looping a movie, if it takes two days, that’s a lot. I don’t know if I should even tell this story, because it’s kind of mean. [beat] What the hell? It’s interesting. So I worked all day and kept going, “That’s the line? Well, I can’t say that.” And you sit there and go, What can I say that will make this funny? And make it make sense? And I worked. I was exhausted, soaked with sweat, and the lines got worse and worse. And I said, “Okay, you better show me the whole rest of the movie, so we can see what we’re dealing with.” So I sat down and watched the whole thing, and I kept saying, “Who the hell cut this thing? Whodid this? What the f*** was Coen thinking?” And then they explained it to me: It wasn’t written by that Joel Coen.

Well, that Joel Cohen is kind of a hack. Can’t believe I’m gonna say this but…I think Bill Murray is making this up. Is there any possible way he would think that the Coen Brothers would direct a freaking Garfield movie? He would have to be off his rocker to think that is in the realm of reality.

Categories: Celebrity News, Interviews Tags: ,
  1. July 20, 2010 at 1:52 PM

    Gunga galunga.

  2. Dan
    July 20, 2010 at 3:18 PM

    Thta is kinda funny but I’m with you…there’s no way he would have thought the Coen’s were making a Garfield movie. If they did I would actually want to see it.

  3. July 20, 2010 at 9:37 PM

    That’s pretty funny if it’s true or not. It’s probably a fake story though because why would he do a sequel? (unless he was under contract)

  4. July 21, 2010 at 9:58 AM

    haha, thats hilarious, whatever he was thinking
    Bill Murray.. funny, but definitely scary

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

