Home > Movies, Trailers > Why Does Zach Snyder Have A Get Out Of Movie Jail Free Card?

Why Does Zach Snyder Have A Get Out Of Movie Jail Free Card?

After all the cool news that came out of Comic Con over the weekend, there’s one thing that I just can’t figure out. I get the excitement over the entire cast of The Avengers showing up, how cool it would have been to sit in on The Expendables panel, all that badass Tron stuff, etc. There is one thing that sticks out to me:

Why does everyone worship Zach Snyder? This completely blows my mind. I’ve sat through all of his movies and his “Dawn Of The Dead” remake is easily his best movie, which is not saying much about his body of work. “300” is an aggressive, painful attack on every sense you possess and “Watchmen” is absolutely terrible. This 90 second trailer for “Sucker Punch” has done little to make me think that Snyder’s changed his tune at all. This looks exactly like every other movie he’s made and either I’m missing the boat here or the Snyder apologists are 100% insane. I mean…this guy sucks, no other way for me to express my opinion about him.

  1. July 27, 2010 at 3:35 PM

    Yeah I’m unimpressed by the Sucker Punch trailer as well. I doubt it will be able to recoup it’s budget ($85 million) when it comes out next March.

  2. July 28, 2010 at 9:30 AM

    There’s a lot about the Sucker Punch trailer that I like– I think Snyder has a strong knack for great visuals, and all of that shows in the released footage. That said Watchmen showed that Snyder, when left to his own devices, goes overboard on eye-candy and leaves the rest of his film hollow. While the callbacks to Alice In Wonderland and even Brazil are really tantalizing, I don’t want to get excited about a well-cut trailer as I did with Watchmen– the end result was a big let-down.

    I’ll be seeing Sucker Punch in March with everyone else, but without the over-charged geek enthusiasm that the trailer wants to incite.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

