Home > Indie Rock, Music > It’s Official: Too Many People Bought “The Suburbs” & Now I Must Leave Arcade Fire Behind

It’s Official: Too Many People Bought “The Suburbs” & Now I Must Leave Arcade Fire Behind

Over indulgent covers?

Oh, just kidding. I’m not that big of a music snob.

But, it is definitely a big day for Arcade Fire, their label Merge, and big indie pop in general. Yes, the little indie band from Montreal now has the number one album in the land. It’s kind of the expected progression for the band as their debut album “Funeral” won over the critics, “Neon Bible” hit the charts and cemented the band as a lead act, and now, the hyped up “The Suburbs” gets to numero uno.

This has nothing to do with the fact that it is #1 on Billboard but, I’m not a 100% fan of the new album. It’s just too damn long. There are plenty of great tunes but it just feels like overkill. There are a few songs that even after several listens, I know I have skipped about midway through. I just…don’t like the tracks with Regine Chassagne on lead vocals. I know that she is adored by many but it seems to me that when Win Butler isn’t singing, the album pulls the emergency break on any and all momentum.

It’s still a damn good album and I think I like it more than “Neon Bible”. It jumps into my freshly minted List Of 2010 Albums That Are So Good You Should Listen To Them Because They Are So Good In 2010:

5. Arcade Fire, “The Suburbs”

4. Wolf Parade, “Expo 86”

3. Broken Social Scene, “Forgiveness Rock Record”

2. Local Natives, “Gorilla Manor”

1. The National, “High Violet”

Categories: Indie Rock, Music Tags: ,
  1. August 24, 2010 at 2:55 AM

    people are stupid

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

