Home > Celebrity News, Movies > Harold Gould, My Favorite Movie Judge Ever, Passes Away

Harold Gould, My Favorite Movie Judge Ever, Passes Away

"Can you remove your dog please? He's dribbling on my notes!"

It may or may not have been mentioned on this blog prior to today, but one of my all time favorite movies is the Chevy Chase-Goldie Hawn flick “Seems Like Old Times”. To me, it’s easily the best Neil Simon movie and right behind Fletch F. Fletch and Ty Webb as Chevy Chase’s finest hour.

Well, Harold Gould, known mostly from “Rhoda”, passed away today. I will forever and always know him as Judge John Channing from the aforementioned movie, the man who hysterically presides over one of the funniest courtroom scenes in movie history. From chicken pepperoni, to foot scraping, to a drooling St. Bernard, to the banter from Chase, Hawn and the genius of Charles Grodin, Gould is without a doubt the ringleader of all of it. His flustered, nervous performance cracks me up every single time I see it. At one point, Gould seems to realize the hilarity of all of it and you can see a smile appear on his face as he is just about to break character and laugh his ass off. No lie, I live for that one second in this movie and I then spend the next five minutes in tears over it.

If you haven’t seen this movie, you really should. It’s such a classic. In fact, I hear iTunes calling my name and quite soon, “Seems Like Old Times” featuring the genius of Harold Gould will be on the Apple TV.

  1. Dad,Dad,Daddio
    September 16, 2010 at 11:54 AM

    wow, I didn’t know that. Love that movie and courtroom scene. he’s also in the awesome “The Sting”. great role in that flick opposite Newman and Redford. One of the great character actors of all time!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

