Home > Movies, Trailers > Two Trailers: One Made Me Meh, The Other Made Me Weepy

Two Trailers: One Made Me Meh, The Other Made Me Weepy

Yesterday, two brand new trailers hit the Interweb machine and are now in your face and all over your computer on several different websites. Since you can easily find them in several different locations, I figured why not smack them up here and give you my two cents worth. Up first, “The Tourist” starring Johnny Depp and Angelina Jolie.

Meh. Not too terribly great looking but not awful. Honestly, I feel the same about this trailer as I did for the first “Knight And Day” trailer…we all know that movie did not turn out too well. Of course, that movie had the poison that is Cameron Diaz and this has the very sexy looking Angelina Jolie. Throw in that magnificent hair of Johnny Depp and it could be a winner. Maybe. Not sure. I am sure that I want his hair.

Let me just say this first: I despise the director David O. Russell. The guy called Lily Tomlin the c-word. He made “I Heart Huckabees”, which is just 100% concentrated pretentious evil from the Gates Of Hell. It’s so God awful and irredeemable. He also made enemies with George Clooney. Yeah, Clooney. How does someone not get along with that guy?

However, this movie looks amazing. Marky Mark Wahlberg is really hit or miss, but when he hits (see “The Departed” and “Invincible”), he really hits. He looks pretty fantastic in this, but from what I’ve read, it’s Christian Bale who is going to be collecting nominations for this one. Yet again, Bale looks nothing like himself and is obviously in hardcore need of a cheeseburger. If he gets any skinner, he’d be opaque. The general idea of what I’m saying here is that Christian Bale looks very thin.

  1. September 16, 2010 at 2:03 PM

    i like your blog very much.. and if you love watching movies please check my blog too.. thank you

  2. September 17, 2010 at 7:50 AM

    You’re right CC, this looks like a movie we’ll be talking about for years to come. I think Christian Bale is an excellent actor. I didn’t recognize him here because he’s so skeletal, but that shows he’s committed enough to the part to totally transform himself.

  3. October 1, 2010 at 10:42 AM

    The Fighter looks like a very typical, very archetypal underdog sports/boxing movie. It just happens to have Christian Bale in a role where he seems to be exuding charisma, energy, and life rather than the dour and grouchy aura he gives off in almost every single performance he gives. I disagree 100% about Huckabees, but nobody can argue that O’Russell is a huge bastard; either way I think this is a movie to watch if only for Bale breaking out of his mold.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

