Home > Celebrity News, Pop Culture > On His 60th Birthday, Allow Me To Overpraise My Hero, Bill Murray

On His 60th Birthday, Allow Me To Overpraise My Hero, Bill Murray

Remember when Bill Murray got screwed out of Best Actor?

In 2004, Bill Murray was robbed in the most robbiest worst of ways. Sean Penn stood up and took the Oscar for Best Actor away from him. Yes, there was voting involved but it’s this bloggers firm belief that everyone that voted for Penn that year is and always will be completely out of their effing minds.

Don’t get me wrong, Penn’s good in “Mystic River”. But he just emotes and glares and whines and blah blah blah. It’s a performance that Penn could do in his sleep. He should not have won based solely on that “is that my daughter in there” scene. For some reason, that annoys me to no end.

Now, think about Bill Murray in “Lost In Translation”. Quiet. Understated. Funny. Touching. A sad, lonely, distant performance from a comedic actor that spent most of his career bringing in your face hilarity. Throw in the fact that he was completely robbed of awards for bringing us the genius that is Herman Blume in “Rushmore” and it’s really just more Academy stupidity.

Maybe it’s Murray’s infamous standoffishness that turns Oscar voters off? Do they hate the fact that he doesn’t live in Hollywood or politic on the Oscar circuit like other actors? Sure. However, it doesn’t change the fact that this guy is a genius…and that I’m still bitter about the 2004 Oscars.

So, happy birthday Bill. You’re my favorite actor, maybe favorite entertainer, working today. Why am I writing this as if you’ll read it? Is it because I secretly hope you will? Yes, it is. Pray for me America.

Cinematically Correct note: Please Bill, do not make “Ghostbusters 3”. Let’s leave well enough alone m’kay?

  1. Dan
    September 21, 2010 at 10:28 AM

    I will forever have fond memories of Bill Murray in his 80s comedies. But I think my favourite period was in the 90s when he gave us Groundhog Day, Kingpin, What About Bob, and Quick Change before he met Wes Anderson…

  2. Melody
    September 21, 2010 at 3:42 PM

    Happy Birthday Bill, Im a big fan of yours and im only 13! I just bought a copy of film magazine and I was like wow!!interview! People at school used to take the mick out of me because of me liking you, but everyones different!
    Love from a fan

  3. September 27, 2010 at 10:38 AM

    Bill Murray is simply amazing! I just recently watched Zombieland and he was pretty much awesome in it.

  4. Jack Archer
    February 12, 2011 at 11:22 PM

    Completely right. Bill Murray was robbed. It was blatant and everyone watching knew it.That’s his Oscar and one day it will be returned to him.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

