Home > MLB, Sports > Sports Flash!! Thank You For The Sports Cry Roy Halladay

Sports Flash!! Thank You For The Sports Cry Roy Halladay

Every baseball game after this one will be a let down.

Yes. I sports cried yesterday. I stood in my living room, hands on the top of my head, unable to really make actual words come out of my mouth. Essentially, it was just an open hole in my face.

I’m not going to go on and on about the game. There are sports writers out there for that. There are two things that I wanted to say about the game:

  1. I took sick pleasure in watching Scott Rolen strike out three times. He’s a whiny baby who couldn’t handle playing in Philly. Coincidence the team started winning after he was sent packing? Probably. Scott Rolen? You just got faced.
  2. Thank you to the Phillies for this amazing four year ride. As a Philly fan used to 30 years of watching his favorite teams fail or just come up short, I promise to never take you for granted. Umm…I love you.

Man, that got weird again didn’t it? My apologies to my tens of fans.

  1. October 7, 2010 at 10:52 AM

    Here in Tampa, we were amazed at the performance Cliff Lee gave against the Rays. Absolutely shut ’em down.

    Then I went to work, where we didn’t have a TV upstairs. I kept checking on the Philly-Cincy score every so often, not realizing Halladay was throwing a no-no.

    The last time I went downstairs to smoke a cigarette, I saw Halladay walking off the field, his teammates hugging him. I asked my manager “What’d he have a complete game shutout?”

    He responded “No, man. He just threw a no-hitter.”

    Amazing and congrats! It’s good to be a Philly fan these days.

  2. October 7, 2010 at 3:48 PM

    Eleven years ago, I sat down the left field line and watched Doc come one out away from a no-hitter in his MLB debut.

    Time after time since then, I watched him dominate and become the best kept secret in the entire league. A guy who could seemingly win the game all by himself. For about seven or eight years he has been my favorite player, and to say I was bummed when the man was traded away last winter would be putting it mildly.

    Last night’s game was the first baseball game I ever TIVO’d that didn’t involve The Boston Red Sox. The only thing that could match my shock when I watched that final out, was the fact that I had picked up the game late, stepped out to run an errand, and finished it after it was over…and in all that time, nobody got in touch with me to tip me off as to what was going on.

    A running joke has been that the local headline would read “Halladay Throws Playoff No-Hitter: Nobody in Toronto Surprised”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

