Home > Movie News, Movies, Pop Culture > There Is No Top Gun Without Maverick Just As There Is No Danger Zone Without Kenny Loggins

There Is No Top Gun Without Maverick Just As There Is No Danger Zone Without Kenny Loggins

I was inverted.

Last week, I wrote about Tony Scott getting back in the director’s chair for a sequel to “Top Gun” over at MoviesOnline. There is no doubt that I am incredibly excited for a return to this material as, much like Maverick, my ego has been writing checks that my body can’t cash. Not only that, every time I go to blog, I’m dangerous.

You might be asking yourself, why I am so obsessed with “Top Gun”? Well, mostly because it’s completely kickass. There isn’t one thing wrong with it, including the 80s slow motion love scene set to Berlin. There is a certain irony that the two actors in that scene, Tom Cruise and Kelly McGillis, are both…well…the rumors of some things…we won’t get into that. Let’s just focus on how this movie is still a muthereffing masterpiece.

Did you know that Christopher McQuarrie, Oscar winning writer of “The Usual Suspects”, is writing this thing? Holy jumpin’ jehosaphat that’s fantastic. Not only that, he confirmed with Vulture that there is no “Top Gun 2” without Maverick. I was really hoping there is no “Top Gun 2” without the Reanimated Ghost Of Anthony “Goose” Edwards but I’ll take what I can get.

Here is how much I love “Top Gun”. I own a green army style jacket…with a patch on it that reads Maverick. I’m not kidding. I’ll photograph it and post it on Twitter later today. (By the way, follow me on Twitter, @Chiccywood) In college, a few of my fraternity brothers and I named a cat Maverick. When I move to different cities or visit other places, I look up the name Peggy Benjamin in the phone book to see if she really exists and if so, find out if she would like to join me for a ride in my jet. So as you can see, I’ve pretty much detailed my life to this point based on Maverick, his lifestyle, his actions, his character, but not his hair cut.

I’ve been very slow in posting things here as I’ve really tried to focus on MoviesOnline. You may ask, whose butt did I kiss to get a gig writing for that site? Oh, the list is long and distinguished.

Yeah…well…so’s my Johnson.

Cinematically Correct note: [whispering] I’m sorry. I’m so, so sorry.

 

 

  1. October 28, 2010 at 9:45 AM

    He he…

    Not sure if I ever left you this link, CC, but I think you’ll get a kick out of it.

    http://sportschump.net/2010/10/06/who-the-hell-is-maverick-carter/4646/

  2. September 13, 2014 at 6:53 AM

    Heya just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.
    woolrich outlet http://www.beefcattleinstitute.org/wp-content/themes/woolricharcticparka/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

