Home > Pop Culture, Television, TV News, TV Shows > The Silence Ends As The Skeet Ulrich Atrocity Must Be Addressed

The Silence Ends As The Skeet Ulrich Atrocity Must Be Addressed

LOOK! It's Johnny Depp!! Johnny! Hey Joh...oh...it's Skeet Ulrich.

This is Skeet Ulrich. He is terrible. Just an awful, horrendous actor. He has more money than me. He’s made out with Jewel in a movie. Neve Campbell too. Am I jealous that such a hack is more successful than I am? Absolutely.

As has been the case for several weeks, it’s been quite some time since I’ve written anything on this blog. It’s the rare combination of real life work responsibilities making me feel compelled to, you know, succeed at my job. Normally, I would blow that stuff right off and move along with incoherent, disposable ramblings about movies and music and such. I’ve also been trying my best to get at least one post a day up on MoviesOnline. For example, here’s the time I mocked Hobbits. I also took some time to tell you that yes, Lena Headey is hot. I also Twitter. A lot.

However, I noticed a piece of news today that compelled my brain to send signals to my fingers to type these words and put them on the Internet:

Skeet Ulrich is quitting “Law & Order: LA”. Let’s address some of things I’ve learned here.

  1. So…you’re telling me that there is a “Law & Order: LA”? What. The. Eff.
  2. How the hell can Skeet Ulrich quit a job? Isn’t that the equivalent of winning the Presidential Election and then telling the country that you were just kidding?
  3. How can a “Law & Order” show featuring Skeet Ulrich actually last long enough for him to decide to quit it?
  4. What in God’s name is Alfred Molina doing? Did he commit a heinous crime and his sentence involved starring on this sure-to-be-terrible show?

I admit, I’ve never watched a full episode of any “Law & Order”. I’m assuming I’m not missing much. I did watch the first episode of “Bob’s Burgers”. Meh. I’m a big fan of H. Jon Benjamin (voice of Bob), but the show seemed to be shooting for some quirky humor and kind of missed the mark. If anything, all I kept thinking about while listening to Benjamin’s voice was the far superior “Archer” on FX, on which Benjamin voices the main character.

To sum up: skip all “Law & Order” shows. Maybe kinda sorta give “Bob’s Burgers” a shot. If you don’t watch “Archer”, get off my Internet.

  1. January 13, 2011 at 3:14 PM

    Dude. If Skeet Ulrich didn’t look like Johnny Depp at the same time as my sister was really into Johnny Depp, I wouldn’t know who he was. Get out of my face, Skeet Ulrich.

    I liked Bob’s Burgers. A nice break from the pop culture throwup of Family Guy. And that other show of Seth MacFarlane’s. And American Dad, which I actually like. Where the fuck did that go? And the Simpsons, for that matter. Goddammit, Fox.

  2. January 17, 2011 at 9:17 AM

    man that first paragraph made me laugh

  3. January 18, 2011 at 12:31 AM

    Making sure you get in on my Super Bowl contest, brother.

    http://sportschump.net/2011/01/17/our-first-annual-super-bowl-xlv-contest/5456/

    Picks gotta be in by kick-off of Sunday’s game.

  4. January 22, 2011 at 1:59 PM

    He’s still funnier than Seth Rogen.

  5. jj
    February 2, 2011 at 3:28 PM

    Wow, step off the Bitter Bus. Actually, Ulrich is a good actor and the fact that you can’t see that means that you don’t even understand acting. I bet you think running around the screen yelling and boiling emotions down to cartoon characters constitutes good acting? Terrence Howard, is this your secret blog???

    But, working at StarBucks has kept you out of the loop. I’ll have a Grande No-Whip Carmel Macchiato with cinnamon. Thanx.

    • Anonymous
      April 2, 2014 at 4:19 PM

      😄

  6. Cathyjb
    March 18, 2011 at 4:48 PM

    There’s an idea, perhaps this is Terrence Howard’s secret blog.

    There’s no way for me to check the accuracy of what Skeet Ulrich did or said with regard to LOLA because I don’t know the man. One thing I read was that he and another actress quit in protest of Regina Hall being fired. No one will know the truth unless/until one of those two has something public to say.

    I am certain that without the Skeet’s fan base, LOLA would have gone nowhere to begin with. Now, I suspect it will follow the course of NBC trying to replace Jay with Conan: down and out the door. LOLA’s most viewed episode will be the episode in which they kill off Skeet’s character. After that, I’m done with LOLA and, in fact, all of the Law & Order shows.

    I agree with with poppeelings’ statement above.

  7. March 30, 2011 at 9:39 PM

    I don’t know what you have seen with Skeet Ulrich but he is a great actor. My husband who doesn’t care for too much TV except for War movies really thought he was a good actor in Jericho, James Dean, etc. I watch all the L&O’s but Wolf made a big mistake. Why didn’t he take out others instead of Skeet? What made him think that Skeet was the one to take out. If anythng the bald guy should go. Who is he? He is a very dull character. The wrong they did was make Skeet married, he is a single woman’s dream. They should bring him back as the twin brother of the one they killed off, but he is single and a cop. Wolf has made some great shows with L&O but he messed up on this. I and and at least 10 of my girlfriends were in dreamland when we found out that we would be watching Skeet every week. That may not be much of an audience but we are a small amount of many.

    Bring him back and change his character and get rid of the boring characters. Skeet is a good actor and has a great following from all the blogs I have read about him. Bad move.
    Lia

  8. Anonymous
    April 11, 2011 at 10:37 PM

    I would call it a weak mind to judge something that you haven’t even tried. Perhaps Law & Order is too complicated for you to follow.

  9. Rebecca
    December 6, 2011 at 4:50 AM

    Umm, did anyone here see Jericho? He rocked it. One of my all-time favorite shows.

  10. Rebecca
    December 6, 2011 at 4:52 AM

    The reason he had to leave Law and Order was that the two titanic egos – Molina and the black guy – thought they were too good to be on alternating shows, so they took Skeet out and turned Molina back into a cop, so he could be on every show. It was all about the egos, the money and the screen time.

  11. jj
    January 2, 2012 at 12:29 PM

    @ Rebecca…..sadly, this is true. And how did that work out for NBC? The ratings plummeted once they got rid of Ulrich. It was noticeable and apparent that people were NOT tuning in to see Terrence or Molina, the supposed ‘big stars’ of the show. Molina as a cop was unwatchable and Terrence Tear-Drop-of-the-Hat Howard was beyond annoying on screen. I appreciate Ulrich’s subtle acting. It is called becoming the character, a cop. Cops are low-key and calm, especially detectives. It is realism. Unfortunately, today, people think that if an actor is running around the screen yelling and melodramatic, that constitutes good acting. I like Ulrich’s old school style, reminiscent of Monty Clift. You believe he is the guy, not an actor playing a cop. I thought the chemistry between the two cops, Stoll and Ulrich was the strength of the show.

  12. Oh you pathetic hags
    March 26, 2012 at 1:25 PM

    Consider yourself warned, Skeet has a legion of psychotic, middle aged women who can’t handle it when anyone, anywhere, utter an even remotely critical word about him. He’s a stiff, wooden, actor but ooooh he’s pretty so…whatever. And yes, I’m a straight woman, and I’m here to tell you….you’re right. There’s a reason the man can’t carry a show, people, he’s all looks and none of that other stuff…..what is it again? Oh yeah….talent.

  13. June 23, 2012 at 12:17 AM

    WTF U people r a bunch of dumb asses Skeet Ulrich is one of the best actors and all around good guy

  14. Andrea
    July 19, 2012 at 3:29 PM

    I’m both a Skeet and Johnny fan. However, as I browse videos and watch interviews of both, I think Skeet is much more grounded as a “normal” person and not putting on that mysterious, eccentric, I’m-a-superstar personality. When I saw him in “As Good As It Gets”, I though he looked like Johnny Depp but that’s the only time I think they looked alike. And yes, I’m a middle-aged woman (although NOT psychotic) who believes Skeet is absolutely adorable! Skeet is much more attractive – more attractive looks, personality AND, YES, ACTING! He’s a natural. Unless you are watching Shakespeare or a melodrama, watching an actor who appears as though he doesn’t know he has a camera filming him or an audience watching him is, in my opinion, a person who has achieved the highest level of his art. I only just now started watching Law & Order L.A. and only because Skeet is in 14 episodes. He proves my point in LOLA. Natural is better, especially in a show like L&O.

    LOOK! It’s Skeet Ulrich!! Skeet! Hey Sk…oh… 😦 it’s Johnny Depp.

  15. December 2, 2014 at 11:14 PM

    If another actor had played the lead on “Jericho”, it would not have been cancelled after one season. Lennie James was the only real reason to watch that series. Sorry, but Skeet was the least interesting person on the show.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

