Home > Album Reviews, Music > “Consolers” Has Some Hits & Misses

“Consolers” Has Some Hits & Misses


The Raconteurs debut album, “Broken Boy Soldiers”, was one of the best albums of 2006. Their second album, “Consolers Of The Lonely”, is nothing like their first. Much like the first single from the album, “Salute Your Solution”, it is very herky-jerky with lots of starts and stops.

First of all, The Raconteurs amps must go up to 11 for sure because the power chords on the majority of the album are cranked. This is as loud or louder than any guitars you heard on “Soldiers” or any White Stripes album. For me, it’s a little distracting sometimes. The song “Hold Up” is immediately skipped every time I get to it. I just can’t handle the obnoxious power chords on it, “Five On The Five” or the title track. It’s odd but when Jack White breaks out the heavy guitar, it turns me right off on this album.

My favorite tracks on this album are the quieter ones. My favorite song on the album is the last track “Carolina Drama”. It’s got that Americana sound complete with fiddle and a vivid story painted by Jack’s lyrics. “Old Enough” also has an Americana feel with that same fiddle and organ. I also like the two songs (“You Don’t Understand Me” & “Many Shades Of Black”) that really give the other guitarist/vocalist Brendan Benson some time to shine.


Overall, as painful as it is to say, this is really a Jack White guitar album. He really dominates here when he sounded more like a band member on “Broken Boy Soldiers”. My expectations for this album may have been too high that I am inevitably disappointed but it just feels like something is missing. At 14 songs, it may actually be too lengthy and if they trimmed out three or four songs, you would have a much smoother sounding album.

  1. Adam
    March 28, 2008 at 2:17 PM

    I wouldn’t say anything is louder than some of the songs on Icky Thump.

  2. March 28, 2008 at 4:20 PM

    WEB SHERIFF
    Protecting Your Rights on the Internet
    Tel 44-(0)208-323 8013
    Fax 44-(0)208-323 8080
    websheriff@websheriff.com
    http://www.websheriff.com

    Hi CC,

    On behalf of XL Recordings and Warner Bros Records, many thanks for plugging “Consolers Of The Lonely” … .. thanks also, on behalf of the labels and The Raconteurs, for not posting any pirate links although, if your readers would like a good quality, non-pirated, preview clip, a widget of the promo video for “Salute Your Solution” is available for fans and bloggers to embed at http://www.theraconteurs.com/widget.html

    Best for the Weekend,

    WEB SHERIFF

  3. runningback
    April 3, 2008 at 2:11 PM

    I couldn’t agree with you more. I threw together a review of the record as well that pretty much points to the fact that the reason why Broken Boy….. was a far superior record. It was an actual “band”.

    New Raconteurs album: Disappointing

  4. Adam
    April 3, 2008 at 2:31 PM

    Interesting review but the fact remains if Jack White wasn’t in the band The Raconteurs would be completely irrelevant.

  5. Thomas
    April 9, 2008 at 9:47 AM

    The first time I heard it I thought before track 5th that it wasn’t better than ‘Broken Boy Soldiers’, and when I reached 14th I said it out loud.

    I like tracks 3 & 8 too, even though I think ‘Many Shades of Black’ is a litle over the top on the drama (and on the volume, of course), even more since there’s still 6 tracks to the end of the album (you’re right, it IS too long). But it’s ok, Raconteurs IS a litle emo. ‘You Don’t Understand Me’ is the next single, I guess, very catchy, I like the piano.

    I really enjoyed the wah-wah on ‘Hold Up’, but I agree with you, the rhythm guitar really ruins it. Like ‘The Switch and The Spur’, which is great until the noise begins halfway through it.

    My favourite tracks are ‘Old Enough’ and the title. Carolina Drama is beautiful, but just a good one.

    I’m not really disappointed, just a little bit, like I was with White Stripes and ‘Get Behind Me Satan'(mainly the title song), but not as much as I was with ‘Icky Thump’.

    Cheers.

  6. Thomas
    April 9, 2008 at 10:00 AM

    P.S.: I wasn’t REALLY disappointed with Icky Thump, but that just doesn’t sound like The White Stripes. The horns are cool, but it’s too much, mainly when I compare it to some guitar-and-drums-only (no pedals) recordings (like bootlegs) of the White Stripes.

  7. Adam
    April 9, 2008 at 10:45 AM

    Title song for Get Behind Me Satan?

    FAIL.

  8. September 25, 2008 at 3:21 PM

    I Agree SomeWhat. Jack has a very abstract taste. yet he manages to hold the energy of rock without become Alternative. its good so lett it evolve.

  1. March 29, 2008 at 10:23 AM

Leave a comment